Confessions of a Procrastinator

I am an art teacher. I’m also an art blogger and an author of a book about art. I think about art. I talk about art. I read about art. I write about art. The problem is that I don’t DO art, or at least, not other than what is needed for my students’ classes, I haven’t in several years. Even when there is an idea in my head that is begging to get birthed, the thinking, talking, reading, writing, and teaching seem to demand attention first.

As a matter of fact, I have had such an idea in my head for several years now:
I have had bouts of depression my whole life. After becoming a born-again Christian I found the tools to carry on that battle much more effectively. One time, a few years ago, while I was teetering on the edge of depression, I was praising and worshiping the Lord in church when I got a vision of what that looked like spiritually. I began to imagine how I might capture the vision in a painting, but that’s as far as I ever got.

Recently, while again sensing the tide of depression coming in, I sensed the Lord chastise me for never accomplishing the task He had given me.

“Oh! Okay, Lord, I’ll work on it. Right after the students’ art show is over and school’s out for the summer, and I’ve gotten ahead on my blog posts. I promise I’ll work on it between the summer vacation plans. ”

“STOP IT! Right now go and schedule yourself to work on DOING art several times a week.”

Does the Lord speak to you like that? I’m sure it was Him because my self-justifications sounded so reasonable to me that I was totally convinced of the rightness of my intentions.

In any case, about this blog: I had intended over the next several weeks to read essays from the book Called to Create and write summaries for you. Ah. . . more reading and writing about art. Well, what I’m going to do instead is share with you some excerpts from a script that I wrote around the song “Were You There When They Crucified My Lord?” It is my fervent belief that ALL of the arts need to be reclaimed by people of faith. This script is one of my attempts to use drama to tell the message of God. It’s a series of soliloquies from obscure characters in the shadows of the passion of Christ. Some are funny and others are full of heartbreak and irony. I hope you’ll enjoy them.

Meanwhile, I’m going to be working on this painting in my head, and when I get it done I will share with you the whole excruciating creative process whether the results are good, mediocre, or devastating. Wow! Talk about taking a risk.

Next week we’ll meet the man who had the donkeys that the disciples borrowed on Palm Sunday.

Leave a Reply

