Dancing With My Sisters

Dance sisters copy

As a member of John Hagee’s Cornerstone church, I am privileged to enjoy a rich, racially diverse faith community.

One day, I slipped into a pew next to a friend of mine from the praise and worship dance team. I’m a northern-european anglo, and my friend is a light skinned African-american. When the time came for us to stand for worship, we both raised our arms simultaneously, and that elegant, synchronized motion made me think of all the other people we knew on the dance team. Between the hispanics, blacks, and anglos of our south Texas environs, the team consists of every complexion imaginable from ebony to chocolate to tans to palest vanilla. What a reflection of what the Kingdom will be like!

All of a sudden an image flashed into my mind of various colored ribbons fluttering in the breeze. By the grace of God I was able to retain the impression long enough to put it down on paper using soft pastels to represent the various ethnic groups each with its own unique beauty, but all united in the worship experience.D

Leave a Reply

