What’s In A Name?

Fathers Love Pencil

A few years ago, as I sat in church waiting for the service to begin, I was watching the usual busy fellowshipping going on all around me. While considered a “mega-church,” my church has organized along the model of small home fellowship groups so a lot of mentoring and close friendships develop in spite of the overall size.

On this particular Sunday the hubbub suddenly seemed to fade back, and my attention was drawn to the expression of delight on the face of one elderly gentleman as he and a young man approached each other.

I suppose that the older man was probably a home fellowship leader and was expressing his delight and interest in the young man from his group, but the look on his face seemed universal and eternal. It was the look of cherishing, of the mentor delighting in his charge, of the priestly benediction pouring forth from a full heart, of a father’s pride. I imagined that the father in the story of the prodigal son might have looked the same way. Perhaps even the Creator greeted Adam with the same look when they met in the cool of the evening.

Fathers Love 2 copy

I attempted to capture that look in a piece of art work. I worked it up first in pencil and then expanded it to pastel. Perhaps I’ll further develop it into an oil painting.

The problem, at the moment, is what to name it. Here are some I’ve considered, “A Father’s Love,” “Return of the Prodigal,” “Cherished,” “The Blessing.” What are your thoughts? I’d love to hear your reactions or suggestions.

2 responses to “What’s In A Name?

  1. Rayla-Jeanne, How about, “Recognizing Love”. They are taking notice of, and acknowledging each other, with appreciation.

Leave a Reply

