Four Seasons Texas-style

Four Season: Spring and Summer

Four Season: Spring and Summer

Most of the country would assume that those of us who live in south-central Texas don’t know the first thing about “the four seasons,” but actually we do have our own version, and I don’t mean: “Warm for Winter,” “Too Hot for Spring,” “Hotter’n H__LL,” and “Thank the L_rd It’s Autumn.”

We have those, too, of course, but looking out over the vast landscapes of hill country as I’m barreling 80 mph down the interstate, I’ve noticed how the colors subtly change from season to season. The landscapes are made up mostly of layer upon layer of live oak, cedar, hackberry, and pecan arranged on undulating hills to the horizon. While that basic vista seldom changes, the very nature of the sun’s light seems to and the nature of the greens and the neutrals seems to go through a predictable and familiar pattern as the months role on.

For years I wondered if I could capture those subtle changes, so a few years ago I decided to do some small studies in watercolor.

Now before I go on, let me share with you some personal critique. I believe that I am more accomplished as an art teacher and an art philosopher than a producing artist. Often those images that my heart and my mind are full of seem to fall short when I get them on paper. Nevertheless, I feel compelled to keep producing, and I’ve decided to use this blog as a place to share my artistic struggles as well as my lofty concepts and teaching techniques. With that being said, let’s get back to the four-season watercolors.

Four Season: Fall and Winter

Four Season: Fall and Winter

I’m not posting these to brag or show off what I accomplished but rather to share with you the results of the first clumsy watercolor stage. I love the quality of color that watercolor offers and the serendipitous nature of the medium can lead to some happy accidents, but I haven’t been completely convinced that I’ve successfully captured what attracted me to the subject in the first place. So I set them aside while I thought, and watched, and waited.

Next week I’ll share with you the next phase when I explore the possible fusion of tangle art and pastel with the watercolor.

Leave a Reply

